Smoothing out Bass Runs/Solos

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by mjl422, Oct 29, 2003.

1. mjl422

Jul 3, 2002
    Any advise on how to smooth out bass runs and solos? I've been playing for about 6 yrs. now and can't seem to smooth out my runs. I seem to play my notes very stacatto(sp). sort of like Jaco or Rocco. I'm trying to get my runs a little more fluid. I hear some bass players whose phrasing and fluidity almost sound like the human voice. What do I need to work on to get more fluid?
  2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    lighter touch and legato perhaps?
  3. JMX pretty much naild it. More legato. Use slides, pull-offs and hammerons.

4. What is legato? and what is strataco?
  5. lgato=Play smoth. Use lots of hammer ons, pull offs and slides.

Staccato=Play "stiff".
  6. While the above is true, the technical definition for each of these terms is slightly different.

To play legato means to play each note as long as possible and to have the smallest about of a break in between each note. To do this keep each note fretted until you play the next note.

To play staccato means to make each note very short, basically once the note makes a sound you pick up your fretting finger.
  7. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    to get an idea of legato vs stacato try this...

set a click at 80bpm

play a 1/4 note per click (i.e let each note ring note until you pluck the next one)

now play an 8th note per click, count "one and two and three and four and...". So now you let each note ring until until you count the "and" following each beat.

now play a 16th note per beat, count "one ee and uh two ee and uh..." and only let each note ring until you count "ee" - i.e hardly letit ring at all so it just covers the click.

now combine the two in as many different combinations as you can think of :)
  8. lowerclef

Nov 10, 2003