So Confused!

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by xerogh, Nov 2, 2002.

1. xerogh

xerogh Supporting Member

Oct 11, 2002
    Pennsylvania, USA

I'm totally confused! I want to create a small studio on my PC at home but there is so much to choose from, and so many conflicting ideas on how to do it. I posted last week about Cakewalk and Fruity Loops then I did more research an just made myself more indecisive! I am totally new to home recording so I need a little advise.

I have Guitar's and Bass's that I can record tracks via MIDI with my Line6 POD and BassPOD. I have a Sound Blaster Live! Audio card in my PC.
    That is all I have, so I need the following:

Something to build Drum tracks
    Something for synth sounds
    Something for sequencing
    Something for recording and mixing

So far this is what I think I need:

Recording/Mixing: Cakewalk or Cakewalk XL / Cubase?
    Drums/Synth/Sequenc: Fruity Loops / ReBirth / Reason?
    Midi Interface: One of the MidiMan interfaces (Not sure which one)

Please give me your recommendations.

2. BigTed

Jul 1, 2002
    San Diego
    My Current DAW Setup:

Bass: MIM Jazz & Tacoma ABG
    Sound Card: Echo MIA 24/96
    Sequncing Software: Cubase SX
    Mastering Software: Wavelab 4
    Synths & Drums: Reason 2.0 & Cubase VSTi's
    Midi Interface: Midiman Oxygen8 USB contoller
    DI Box: SansAmp Bass Driver

I'm not a big fan of using the PODs to record via MIDI, (personal preference) but you can get a descent 24/96 soundcard for under 200 bucks now-a-days. Then you can use the POD as you direct-in box.

My advice would be to download as many trial-versions and demos of whatever you can so that you can find what works best for you.
  3. Xerogh,