1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

So easy its hard

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ldiezman, May 12, 2006.

1. ldiezman

ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    Nashville
    Well it has been a very long time since I have made a post here on Talkbass... but I guess that just means i'm over due.

after I graduated college, Irecently moved to Nashville Tn in hopes of furthering my career. No I have never played a country tune in my life until I got here.. I guess thats not surprising. Well, I landed my first road gig here and It pays very very nicely, as you may imagine its country Rock type stuff... Now after I auditioned they told me I had the job but I was to "busy".

So after trying to tone my playing down, its almost still not enough. I never thought I would get frustrated playing such easy music... but comming from a Jazz fusion, R&B, and Funk background, its hard not to want to do more. Has anyone else ever come across stuff like this? Sorry for rambling... i am excited about going all over the U.S making great money, but its a huge change for me stylistically...

2. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    Someone posted this recently about playing country music: "Think of how few notes you could play to this music. Now cut that number in half."

I'm no great player by any stretch of the imagination (and I mean by any stretch) but I did run across this when playing bluegrass. I strayed a little too far from root-5 and was promptly told what bass in bluegrass was all about.

So in short; just relax, kick back and enjoy the cash you're getting paid to play 1/2 notes. How much better could it be? Just enjoy the music, and don't play too many notes, just the right ones. :)

3. Theonestarchild