So green behind the ears it ain't funny!

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by gpnhs, Feb 16, 2003.

1. gpnhs

Feb 16, 2003
    los angeles,
    hello all.
    i've been playing electric bass for give or take 15 years now. all the bands i've been in were loud heavy rock a la sabbath etc. very seventies oriented music. i've always liked jazz (coltrane, dolphy, hutcherson etc) but only recently have i considered playing a stand up bass and to be honest i have no idea what am i up against. i've been to the faq portion of the site but i think i need more details: shall i get a full double bass or those electric ones? how much shall i spend ie what's a good beginners price? once i get into it i have the feeling that i'm really going to enjoy it. so, i think you get the idea: i am so clueless! any help would be most appreciated. you can email me directly at
    thanks for taking the time.
  2. Seppie

Aug 14, 2002
    Austria, Vienna
    good to see that you want to the dark side...

so for the first...what i´m writing is only my opinion and yeah...all have the right to comment that :bag:

hmm first get a good teacher...that´s the best advice i can give you...a good teacher will help you in alot of where to get a bass, whether it´s good or not...and so on!
    the next one: i would recommend to get (if you really want to play) a real db! they are a bit clumsy :bawl: but hey it´s a real bass! and i think that´s what you want!
    but as i said...a good teacher will guide you through the first steps of development to a db player!

gruesze sebastian
  3. arnoldschnitzer

arnoldschnitzer AES Fine Instruments

Feb 16, 2002
    Brewster, NY, USA
  4. You can get a good laminated bass for $1000-$1500, and that is what you should do.