So How Do I Get to the Next Level??

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by timidbassist, Aug 3, 2005.

1. Here is my delima. I have about 5 years experience on bass, and am kind of in a rut. I have been in high school concert band so i know VERY basic theory from that such as reading music fluently and what not, and I am in an elite area jazz band that is getting me to be a lot better player because of the in depth music, but I havent learned as much about theory as I thought I would from it. I am also in a pretty well established rock band so I have played lots of different styles, but want to bring my level or performance to the next level. I have purchased many theory books to learn about major, minor, augmented, diminished, dorian...yata yata, and I just cant get it all in my head. Like I said I have had high school education of music and some jazz theory pounded in my head, but I can get this stuff down. How can I learn this stuff? I can memorize scales all day long, but what good is it going to do me? I want to learn what makes different scales and modes important, and how to use them. How do you learn this stuff besides reading confusing books? I would like to make playing bass my career one way or another, and for all of you out there who are at the professional level I would just like to know how to get there? Since I have 5 years experience its not like I'm not ready for the in depth theory and stuff, I just dont know how to learn it. I dont want to ramble on anymore in this post because every one more line this thing looks less people are going to want to read it so this is it for now.
    Thanks in advance for any help!
  2. Gigging, Gigging, Gigging. PLay with other as much as you can and experiment. Nothing makes you better than playing with others that are better than you.
  3. Well, for starters, you can post in the correct forum... :)