So, how excited were you with your first IN TUNE forays into thumb position?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Aaron Saunders, Jun 30, 2005.

1. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    I know I sound like a little kid (which I am compared to a lot of the old timers) and a total newbie to the upright (which I am unquestionably) but I'm really excited right now! I've been practicing scales and pattern my teacher gave me to practice intonation (the Petracchi method -- I, V, bV, V, bV, V, bii, ii, I-V double stop, iii-IV double stop, I-V double stop all the way up the neck.) I've been doing a lot of two octave scales in the easier keys -- E, F, and G. None of which go into thumb position!

I've done C two octaves a few times, but it always takes a lot of concentration to get those top notes in tune (actually, it's been like that for all two octave scales I've been doing.) What is it that's making me so excited, you ask? I was just drilling the C two-octave scale in my room over and over, and it's gotten to the point where I can hit up to that C in thumb position, almost completely in tune (within a couple cents -- I check with a tuner occasionally after I'm SURE I'm hearing it right) at a decent clip! What's more is that I can not only hit that right, but every note, in sequence, completely in tune. There's no more hunting and pecking around, checking my stopped G against the G harmonic, it's right there under my thumb! And it's just as good going back down :D.