Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

So, i stick my SVT II on for the first time in a while . . .

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by i_got_a_mohawk, Jul 20, 2005.

1. I turn it on so its in standby, i noticed that the graphic EQ light is light very very dimly, even tho it should be completelly off, i thought that was wierd, anyway, i started playing, about 2-3 minutes later i get a whirring noise in the background

Hmmm, time to turn off and post on talk bass me thinks!!! :( :confused:

I tried turning the volume on the bass all the way down, it was still there, so i dont know what it could be :rollno:

Damn it getting a amp cheap!

2. Jerrold Tiers

Jerrold Tiers

Nov 14, 2003
    St Louis
    Whirring noise in speakers?

Hmmm, don't have a quick answer on that.

Was it "working".....passing a signal but had noise, or did it quit passing a signal?

3. Luckydog

Luckydog Supporting Member

Dec 25, 1999
    Mohawk I don't have an answer either. But just in case you're thinking about it, I wouldn't ditch the SVT-II in favor of something else. I have 3 of them and one needed a slight bit of work to get it up to fighting trim. Now all three are powerhouses, and have given me no trouble in the 4 years I've owned them.

4. CrackBass

CrackBass

Aug 10, 2004
    huntsville,AL
    was it the fan kicking on? sorry, i'm sure you know it's not the fan but i had to say it on the off chance you were so excited about your new amp that you didn't think about the fan.

5. Jerrold Tiers

Jerrold Tiers

Nov 14, 2003
    St Louis
    SVT-II uses a 115V AC fan (for both domestic AND export...) so the fan isn't a controlled type.

Unless there is microphonic coupling, fan almost surely wouldn't be the issue with the noise.

BTW, for the curious.....the fan is low power, and is run off the split primary of one power transformer, so it's getting 115V regardless.