Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

So im teaching myself double bass..

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Peter_00, Jun 17, 2003.

1. Ok so I've been playing electric bass for 4 years (im 16) and the local Conservatorium offered me the loan of their double bass 6 months ago. They didn't have a teacher for it and neither do I but I took it anyway and now im to my neck in gigs (two orchestras, two bands, two jazz groups, and a local musical in two months) and im sightreading my way through. The thing is I can keep everyone fooled that I can play but not myself... I've got the opportunity to go to a 'real' double bass player interstate next month to get a lesson but what im asking is.. do you think I can get to a level to be accepted into a major music university in 3 years? because im breaking my neck and i need to know if its gonna pay off.

feel free to post any opinions advice etc.

2. Damon Rondeau

Damon Rondeau Journeyman Clam Artist Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2002
    Winnipeg, baby
    I don't think I'm out of line in saying the advice you'll get around here is: get a teacher. As a mostly self-taught musician (I've had lessons, but not anything that I intensively carried for years), that's the advice I offer as well.

Not that it can't be done without one. People teach themselves all kinds of crazy stuff they shouldn't be able to. It depends completely on the individual. I get better and better at learning as I get older, and I'm 42 now. When I was younger, I didn't have a real clue how to learn and how I learn. Learning was haphazard then, even though I thought it wasn't. It's much more directed now.