so i've been living a lie.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Jonas., Jun 18, 2005.

1. Jonas.

Jun 2, 2005
    ok, so i've been playing bass for about 8 months, and i always thought slap was my favourite aspect on it, so i wanted to have my next bass as suited for slap as possible.

HOWEVER, i've been living a lie, after seeing this i was blown away. i was wondering if i could do that on a 4 string, or do i need a 6 string (he seems to utilise the extra high string a lot) to play this, and similar masterpieces?

AND the main question i wanted to ask, what videos on the internet, or other sources, made you step back and think about your playing the most?
  2. Yvon

Yvon Supporting Member

Nov 2, 2000
    Montreal, Canada
    you can play it on a four, I do.

You will need a lot of position shift but you can make it sound good on a four.
  3. keb

Mar 30, 2004
    I've always liked John's fingerstyle take on that better than the million tapped versions I've heard.

But anyway, back on topic... this may sound kinda goofy and odd, but one thing that made me really evaluate my playing was after watching a Genesis documentary (bear with me!) In it, there was a little segment focussing on Phil Collins' solo career, and there was one part where Phil's band was warming up offstage or somewhere. Lee Sklar was the bassist, and there was a scene of him just warming up a little, really just moving his fingers if I recall correctly, and he had one of the most amazing tones I'd ever heard. And he wasn't even really trying! That really made an impact on me for some reason.
  4. Sonorous

Oct 1, 2003
    Denton, TX
    When I read the thread title, I thought this was going to be about something completely different.

Jan 25, 2005
    Phoenix, AZ