So much eqpt, so few sounds...

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Matt_FL, Apr 6, 2004.

1. Hi everyone,

I've been playing bass for a few years and have a decent selection of equipment, but I find myself quite clueless to generate anything other than a clean sound.

I'm using a MusicMan Stingray 4-string, a Hartke 350W amp, Hartke 4x10 cabinet, and I also have an ART Nightbass effects unit.

So many times I hear a variety of different bass sounds from other players and can never seem to be able to duplicate it. For example, some have a "soft growl" other sound very punchy or "burbly". A few songs I play have some slap/pop, a lot of other songs are more rock or even gospel sounding (I never like to use a pick)

For example, Dave Larue on the Steve Morse Stressfest album, or even the bass solo in Yanni's "Live at the acropolis". Have you heard that solo? Also J. J., the bass player for "Sixpence None the Richer". I saw them many years ago live and he was awesome. He had a Yamaha 6-string bass (SG1206?) and Hartke amp, and had that "growl" sound and played a very melodic bass line.

What I don't know is if I actually need effects at all (are these people using distortion?) or if it's the bass setup or strings or fingers. I haven't had much luck with the effects unit. Sure I can select a delay, chorus, flanger, etc. etc., but I don't know how to make the sound I want!

I'm sure there must be many more sounds lurking in my Stingray that just need to see the light of day.... :)

Any ideas? Help? Anyone?

PS I just found this site and it looks great - also overwhelming to sift through it all!
  2. Jack

Sep 6, 2003
    Newcastle, UK
    Well, a pick will give you a much punchier, almost growlier sound. Overdrive would also work. Im sure that somebody on the net will know about those bassists equipment. Have you tried fan sites?
  3. well,