1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

So my band is going Gospel... need a name

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by bassfootballguy, Aug 4, 2007.

1. bassfootballguy

bassfootballguy Spectacularly Average Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    A small, small town
    I've been a Christian slightly longer than I've been a bassist (25 years) but a few weeks ago I decided that it was time to quit playing clubs and such and began looking for a way to tell my bandmates.
    Well, the next week our lead singer/lead guitarist had a conversion experience and all at once he and the drummer both started coming to church.
    So, we just decided to go Gospel.
    Not southern gospel or even contemporary gospel, but we want to do something different and meaningful. It is full circle for me since I started out playing bass in church so it is a good thing.
    We need suggestions on a name, on songs and of course we need prayers...
    We're more blues influenced, well-versed in material like Gov't Mule, Allman Bros., Southern Culture on the Skids, Black Crowes, etc.
    So, musically we want to continue in that vein, but we have a fantastic harmony component to our music, too, so we have to infuse that more here.
    Anyway, so for the long post and give us a prayer please.

James

2. Busker

Busker

Jan 22, 2007
    Nothing wrong with that.

Names? Something symbolic, like "Shield & Sword." Heck, I don't know, it just came from the top of my head.

Hey, "Master Plan". That's pretty good, no?

3. double-muff

double-muff

May 5, 2007
    Iceland.
    Ominus das Immet.

4. jruffinsr

jruffinsr

Aug 5, 2007
    James-

Hello, I congratulate and acknowledge your decision. Anytime you take a stand for something whatever it is and "act" upon it. It is a good thing.