1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

So, um... anyone else give their bass a name?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Nvr2old, Mar 26, 2013.

1. Nvr2old

Nvr2old

Dec 27, 2012
    Minneapolis
    So I'm now the very proud owner of this fine axe, just arrived today. :hyper:
    attachment.

Words cannot describe, short of I'm not worthy. I've been playing a friend's $200 hand-me-down for three years since I started, and after gigging for a year now promised myself a real bass this year. So after months of following threads and trying every bass I could, nothing felt as nice in my hands as the Roscoe. And then this one pops up with every spec and wood I wanted. Fate.

So, to my question, as it's in route, I told my bandmates that "Billy" is on it's way. This image was in my head and now I have my very own... Billy Baroo.

Cloud 10 :hyper:

2. Turtle71

Turtle71 Supporting Member

Aug 11, 2009
    Madison, WI
    Beautiful Bass! Congrats!! :bassist:

And yeah, I name my basses too....:bag:

3. The only one I've named is my great big acoustic EAB Dean....it looks like a giant version of an acoustic 6 string. In honor of Quickdraw McGraw, I've named it El Kabong.

4. Uncle K

Uncle K The bass player doesn't get a sandwich Supporting Member

Aug 22, 2011
    Erie, PA
    My P-Bass is called The Resonator 2: Judgement Bass (The Judge for short)

My Mustang is called Nutsukow

5. looks stunning ! congrats, and yeah I give my basses nicknames, seems to happen organically like 'Billy' did for you...

some include; black beauty, the 'Donath' special, blondie, the beast, baby blue.. etc... not very original I'll grant you...

edit: oh BTW Just named my latest fretless 'Jaco', first real name I've ever given a bass. :bag: