1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

so what is this sampling gizmo that people use?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by eastcoasteddie, May 9, 2010.

1. eastcoasteddie

eastcoasteddie

Mar 24, 2006
    NoVA
    I'm not a big effects guy, I've been plugging my bass straight into an amp for 15 years. I just recently got an OD pedal specifically for a project I'm working on.

But when I'm at home practicing and noodling around, I feel like could use one of these sampling things...like what Jaco used and SO many others, something like :

what this guy has

is there a simple delay/sampling pedal that can do this or is it some hugely expensive rack system that I won't buy?

2. Boss and Digitech make different levels of loopers. Boomerang makes a more high end unit with more features. There's a plethora of options out there.

3. There's a bit of a difference between loopers & samplers- a looper is what the two vids feature & can be well, *looped* played over whereas a sampler, if I'm not mistaken will play a phrase, riff or whatever just once. Of course there's an entire UNIVERSE of cool & confusing stuff in either direction, far beyond what I know about. Do search *loopers* though. I have a Boss RC-20XL & love it.

Edit: Cheapest looper I know of would be the Boss RC-2; samplers I don't know so well(although I'm pretty sure that's not what you're after). :cool:

4. takfar

takfar

Dec 21, 2008
    Boss DD-7 can hold 40 seconds of loop data, too.

5. Swimming Bird

Swimming Bird

Apr 18, 2006
    Wheaton MD
    I think a sampler and a looper are basically the same thing. They record a phrase (can be very long) and play it back. Samplers are generally more equipped to do shorter phrases and often played back at different speeds. They tend to be better at resampling or starting the sample again midway through playback.