Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

So, Who Is Studying Rabbath's Techniques?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by jgbass, Feb 27, 2006.

1. jgbass

jgbass Guest

Dec 17, 2003
    I started studying Rabbath's techniques about a year and a half ago when I started studying with Kristin Korb.

I got the George Vance books and kind of back tracked to the beginning and learned things a new way. When I started, I had only been playing upright less than two years anyway. Now I am studying material from Rabbath's second book and I am working with my teacher on solo pieces with Rabbath fingering ideas . I even had the chance to study with him at the Arizona Bass Players Festival last October and play for him in a master class.

I think it really has made a positive difference in my playing. The Vance books got me into thumb position almost from the beginning. The material I study in this system is just more interesting and engaging compared to other approaches I studied.

Just curious who is studying Rabbath techniques.

2. i don't study rabbath technique, but i study some of his exercices wich are very musical and they can happen in just one position.

3. tappingtrance

tappingtrance Cooke Harvey Supporting Member

Jul 27, 2005
    Great stuff - I have studied with George Vance and attended several of his summer week long seminars with Francois there - fantastic concepts around stance, playing lightly, pulling the bow across the strings rather than pushing down - great DVDs out - all highly recommended.

4. fcleff

fcleff

Apr 22, 2005
    Austin, Texas