Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

So wht string should i try next on my ibanez btb405?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Suckbird, Feb 6, 2005.

1. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Sweden
    The bass is a ibanez btb405.

I have elixir on it now but i dont found them enough special to pay the price tag on them again so...

What should i try now?
    I'm a newbie to strings, have only used a noname brand string that came on my first bass, warwick yellow label and the elixirs...

I would like something punchy with a steve harris clikity-clonk sound, i guess.. :rolleyes:

I know steve harris has a signatur set but if i remember right then it was just a 4string pack...

2. You should really try a set of D'addario's. They are long lasting and have a great feel to them. As for the Steve Harris sound, or any sound in particular, EQ is the biggest part of it, not strings. You should really play whatever strings you like best and work on the sound through the amp.

3. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Sweden
    So give me some suggestions, going to order from stringsandbeyond.com

They have d'addario, ghs, elixir, eb, dr etc..

4. Thurisarz

Thurisarz

Aug 20, 2004
    Try some stainless steel strings for that sound. Rotosound RS66, Fender 7350, GHS Super steels etc

There are many good brands on the market

*Edit:* Where in Sweden are you, PM if you like :)

5. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Sweden
    Looks like they dont have the strings you named.
    I might aswell buy a set of flatwounds just to try for my 4stringer.

By the way, i live in Motala. About 25 miles away from stockholm.

6. MichaelScott

MichaelScott

Jul 27, 2004
    Moorpark CA
    Try the standard Ernie Ball slinkies. I just bought a BTB510e and I'll be putting a set on after the Elixirs are done.

7. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004