Sociology and soldiers...

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Sheep Man, Dec 15, 2002.

1. Ok guys, I'm studying for my sociology final now...or...I was, but now I'm posting here.

Anyway, there's this one sentence in the chapter about war that just disturbs me to no end, and it also seems to go against everything I've read from all you servicemen and ex-servicemen.
    I just thought I would share this with you guys, and...while I would be more than willing to regurgitate this information on my final, should there be a question on it, but I would also like to know what you guys think/feel about it all.
  2. Ahh but if they are refferring to male soldiers then that line is stating the obvious. I mean males would be aroused by anything heehee

3. pigpen02

Mar 24, 2002
    so many acts of violence can be "read" as metaphors for male penetration. think: knives/swords/bullets=penile penetration; i.e. "i'm gonna stick this in you...."

war is a metaphor for a gangbang. i can see it.
  4. ZuluFunk

ZuluFunk Supporting Member

Apr 14, 2001
    No man prays for peace more than the soldier.
    For he alone bears deepest the scars and wounds of war.

Something like that.

In the face of battle, if you are not willing to lay out all you have, it may not be an issue of questioning your manhood, but risking your survival.
    You don't go into conflict looking to be a hero...that's a quick way to die. But in any combat (on a battlefield or in a dark alley) if you are not prepared and don't have the instinctive urge to eliminate the threat you are likely to be killed. If you are prepared (physically, mentally, philosophically) you have to somewhat look forward to doing the deed.

I said somewhat. If you don't embrace that moment at all, and are prone to want to avoid it, you will lose any advantage.
  5. lump

Jan 17, 2000
    St. Neots, UK