soft strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by maniacal302, Jan 14, 2001.

1. maniacal302

Jan 14, 2001
    I've been playing bass for about 2-3 years now. I still consider myself an advanced beginner because I havent taken lessons and am somewhat decent on the bass. In any case, I have an Epiphone rip off of a Squier bass and in the time that I've been using it I have been using ghs boomers and other low quality strings. When I've used these strings I've noticed theyre hard and heavy and leave me with gross, calloused skin. I was wondering which string makers make strings that feel much softer, and what the difference is.
    i know this sounds like a stupid question but im a stupid guy
  2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Callouses are a fact of life for bassplayers, particularly if you use roundwounds, but they shouldn't be "gross" after a couple years of playing, assuming you play almost everyday.

If you have well-formed callouses, you should be able to use about any string guages you want, roundwounds or flatwounds, with minimal discomfort.

As XavierG alluded to in one of his points, perhaps your bass isn't set up properly for you. That is, the strings are too high off the neck. That could be due to the bridge/saddle heigth, or the neck needing adjusmet.

If your fingering/picking hand has bad callouses, your pickups may need to be raised. You may be trying to get more volume by attacking the strings too hard. (Or your amp isn't packing the weight).
  3. maniacal302

Jan 14, 2001
    i use .045-.105 roundwound ghs boomers. i think that the times i was using other bassists basses the strings might have felt more comfortable because the quality of the bass was better, but i am certain that there must be some strings that arent nearly as harsh to my fingers as these ones.
  4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member