1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Soft Synth recording: Native Instruments Absynth 3 vs. Arturia Moog Modular V2 ?!

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Terrorstorm, Nov 2, 2006.

1. Hello!

first post in the recording forum..
    and I'm a noob in this stuff.

I plan to start a one man project.. something experimental.
    This will mainly contain solo bass stuff, but I want to add some synths to the whole thing.
    For recording bass I already have SONY Acid pro 4, but the world of virtual synthesizers is completely new for me.

I want to get myself a midi keyboard and a nice software for synthesizers. So far Ive been looking at the ABYSYNTH 3 (the version 4 doesn't fit in my budget anymore..) and at the Arturia Moog Modular v2.
    Anyone who has used one of these.. please tell what you think about it.

Thanks a lot..
    Markus

2. zac2944

zac2944

Dec 28, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    I do a bit of work with softsynths. Reason and Cubase are my main programs, and I use a lot of VSTi's. I used Absynth before and didn't really like it. I'm not a fan of the layout. I've never used Arturia Moog.

If you're just getting into softsynths you might want to start with free VSTi plugins. There are a ton of free VST softsynths and effect out there and some of them are as good or better than anything you can buy. Get youself an inexpensive controller; maybe something like a Keystation 49e. Just make sure whatever you get has a mod wheel and pitch bend control. You'll also need a program to host the VSTi's. I use Cubase, but I think there are some free programs out there.

For more info on VSTi's check out KVRaudio.com. It's like TalkBass for softsynth/VSTi stuff.

Good luck.

3. keb

keb

Mar 30, 2004