Software suggestion needed

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by KingOfAmps, Apr 28, 2004.

1. First, I have zero insight/background in computer recording/editing etc. and as such I do not know the good search terms. So...

What are two or three smart choices of software that will allow me to handle the following:

I have a standalone 8 channel hard disk recorder. It has analog and adat ins/outs. Without losing any quality I need to get those 8 channels of recorded audio into my computer for basic mixing/editing. Then I would like to send that stereo mix back out to the recorder to be burned on a standalone burner.

2. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    E Mu 1820M, has adat ins and outs, very high end A/D/A converters, $500.

Comes with cubase 5.1 VST, see for more info
  3. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    If you're not running Win 2K/XP you could get protools free edition. Without buying any additional hardware you'd need to import 1 track at a time.

If you run Win 2K/XP then check out the software at . They have software starting at $0.00 (free) and going up from there. You could also search on acid express, which is also free.

Heck, do a google on audio editors, there are oodles of possibilities and plenty don't cost a thing.
  4. DirtDog

Jun 7, 2002
    The Deep North
    KoA - we meet again!

I've had good luck with the M-Audio hardware in recent years. I've also got an Alesis 12 track mixer that allows you to mix on the fly and dump to digital audio via USB. For whatever reason, I get better results from the M-Audio. Seemed to be major latency and driver issues with the Alesis stuff. Or maybe just my computer not being powerful enough.