Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

software

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by give4, Feb 24, 2003.

1. give4

give4

Jan 26, 2003
    el salvador
    hi
    im new in this thing of the tabs, i dont know softwares to write tabs so i would like to have some sugestions about bass tab editors software...
    thanks.

2. wulf

wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    I just use a text editor - the important thing is to make sure you've got a mono-spaced font so everything lines up.

Mind you, I've only tabbed short phrases, as illustrations for sharing on the net - dedicated software might make it easier if you plan to do whole songs.

Wulf

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
  4. jani_bjorklund

jani_bjorklund

May 22, 2002
    Finland
    I would also say TablEdit. I have used it for maby 3 or 4 years now and tabbed hundreds of basstabs with it. It's simply the best. If you have any further questions concerning the prog just ask.

5. David Walden

David Walden

Nov 24, 2013
    I've just started using TablEdit v2.75b4c hoping just to get the notes down on paper rather than use pencil, eraser and blank sheets of paper with lines for the strings printed on them.
    It is impressive, but like so many other pieces of software, it takes a lot of watching tutorials, reading instructions and just plain trial and error to learn the program and that takes time. I thought I would start with something that sounded like it would be easy but before I got too far into the song I got stuck on trying to get the MIDI to play the right "feel" until I discovered "Swing Eighths" in the MIDI Options.