Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Solidstate ampeg preamp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Yossarian, Aug 3, 2004.

1. Yossarian

Yossarian

Jun 24, 2004
    Virginia
    Has Ampeg ever made any solid-state preamps?

I'd love to go pre/power with an ampeg preamp but I really don't want to deal with tubes. I don't think tube sound is THAT much better than SS anyways (please dont hurt me). Anyone besides me think Ampeg should sell... say... the preamp to the B-4R? I have this dream where I send them an email saying they should sell the B-4R preamp for like... $300 and then they're like "what a great idea!" and they do it and I buy it and I'm a happy lil bassist.

2. Frank Martin

Frank Martin Bitten by the luthiery bug...

Oct 8, 2001
    Budapest, Hungary, EU

I have an Ampeg SVP-BSP (Billy Sheehan sig pre), which has one single tube at the input, but both channels are solid-state.
    But probably you'll feel its not quite for you - the clean channel is nice clean, though not hi-fi in which I mean its got a bit less highs and sounds smoother (i mean not harsh and not grinding lows, but with eq-ing it can be done) but the overdrive channel is really-really distorted. I use only a little amount of that with the two channels combined to get that Ampeg sound.
    Had the SVP-Pro for a short while, but didnt like that it was not clean even at low gain, and it had some noise. and too many tubes ... j/k I dont think you'll have too many problems with preamp tubes - they last a couple of years and its not hard to replace them

3. xyllion

xyllion Commercial User

Jan 14, 2003
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Owner, Looperlative Audio Products
    Yea, preamp tubes are nothing to worry about. Odds are you will never need to change them.