Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Solo Licking

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by darth, Mar 22, 2003.

1. darth

darth

Mar 18, 2003
    I have been playing for a little over a year now, self taught, i know my scales and modes from the net.
    I think i can make decent bass lines so far, but whenever i attempt to solo in a jam i end up playing somethin very rythmic like just another bassline.
    a bass player once told me there are lick books for bassists to practice just as lead guitarists do.
    but where i live there are virtually no music books whatsoever.
    long story short, i was wondering if any of you great bassists outthere could point out some licks and moves for me to practice with.
    thank you for your time...

2. wulf

wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    One of the problems of taking a bass solo in the middle of a jam is that the whole feel of the song will change without the bass to drive it along. That's not necessarily a bad thing - variety is good - but you've got to listen to what else is going on and make sure you're fitting with that.

One way to approach it is to play the bassline but spice it up a bit. For example, if you're playing a repeated riff every bar, trying playing it once every two bars instead, creating a gap.

Now, drop a couple of notes into the empty bars. Don't try to do too much but just add a bit of colour to contrast with the riff. That way, you keep the groove going but still get to pop a few notes over the top.

Another approach would be to work with one of the other people you're jamming with - if they can pull some good solos out of the bag, why not ask them to:

a) hold down the bassline to keep the groove going

b) teach you to play some of the things they've play if you were playing the bassline (d'ya follow?)