Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Solving this problem, once and for all

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by yyz, Jul 17, 2005.

1. yyz

yyz

Aug 17, 2004
    Bumpass, Virginia
    I don't want this to sound like a "noob" question. I've been playing for 2 years and I don't play with a band so I usually practice without an amp. Well, ever since I started playing I developed an aggressive finger attack. And for 2 years I've been playing like that and I always noticed a clicking sound whenever I pluck the strings. It wasn't an issue up until I started getting serious about the bass. I've tried everything I can to fix it. There's one problem though, I know that raising my action up will fix it but I have a lot of trouble playing with my action so high. I've just become so acustomed to the low action. Could someone please give me some tips on how to get rid of this "clicking" sound? Thanks for the help.

2. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

Well, a clicking sound isn't that bad. Just ask Steve Harris...

One thing that I've noticed and you could try: I also get a clicking sound if I stop two strings at a time on the same fret (a perfect fourth) and play the higher one. Let's say that I'm playing an A on the D string, 7th fret with my index finger, but I'm also pressing the A string with the same finger, maybe because I'm playing an alternating root-fifth bassline. Most of the times I'll get a click along with the A note. If I want to get rid of it, I must move my index finger according to the string I need to fret (Don't fret both strings. Just the one you need. Hope you understand what I'm trying to say).

3. Playing closer to the bridge can help you... also, make sure your volume is at a good level. A few times I'll wonder why I'm really digging into the strings and then realize my amp is way down. :p