1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Some advice for a newbie on supplying power to a pedalboard please.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by saresu.bass, Jun 2, 2014.

1. I'm a total novice. I've found lots of info on pedal power suppliers but I don't think they apply to my case.

I have all the power adapters of my few pedals: a EBS microbass II, a DOD FX-25b and a Roland TU-12 tuner along with a Boss ME-8B multi-FX where I want to use all its FX rather than using stompboxes.

What would you guys recommend in this case, where you have all power adapters? Install an outlet on the pedalboard?

Or,

Is it better to leave all the adapters out and buy a power supply to feed pedals for the sake of functionality, without all the hassles of their long power cords?

2. bray101

bray101

Feb 26, 2012
    Ohio
    It's incredibly easier to have some sort of power supply on the board. That way, you have one power cord feeding your supply, and then each pedal is hooked to the supply with small cables. This is great as long as all your pedals can run off the supply. If they are all 9 or 12V, then you should be fine with any supply these days (Voodoo Labs Pedal Power 2 Plus, BBE Supa Charger, etc.).

I've seen some that just mount a surge protector on there and run the wall warts, but I am personally not a fan of that. I enjoy the clean board style where all you see is the pedals themselves. To each his own, in this case.

3. bray101

bray101

Feb 26, 2012
    Ohio
    This is the other night. Bedroom rig. I had both my bass and guitar boards out and moving some stuff around. Not ally they are a lot neater. Haha.

The guitar one on the right looks a little empty, but I share some pedals between the two boards, and that red pedal and the volume pedal are not velcro'd down yet as of this picture.