1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Some advice on how to wire a humbucker and p-bass split pickups

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Simonolly, Feb 1, 2019.

1. Simonolly

Simonolly

Nov 18, 2015
    Hello, I'm a first time kit builder and I wanted to ask for some advice on how to wire up a bass with a humbucker and a p bass split pickup. Like what capacitor I should use or whether I should use 250 or 500 pots and any other tips and tricks I should know. The kit comes with a plate with 2 pot holes and a 3 way toggle switch (should I switch out the toggle?) and I really don't want to make anymore holes in the body.

Thanks,
    Simon

Humbucker
    P-Bass Split
    (PS I found this diagram, I know its for guitar but would it be similar to how I should wire my bass?)

2. thetragichero

thetragichero

Jan 4, 2019
    welcome to the obsession!

this is my main bass, originally wired like that diagram (maybe with a 47nF cap instead), but I found the toggle switch not nearly as useful on bass as on guitar.
    currently it has a 500k mn taper blend pot (https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B005G3WK5E?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_mob_b_pd_title this one), 250k volume and tone. I tend to play just slightly favoring the p side of the center detente. gives the gigs punch and mids of the p with some of the attack/articulation of the bridge humbucker

one other thing I found was that I needed to raise the height of my bridge humbucker (8k dcr) you balance better with the strong p (like 14k dcr). don't be afraid to fiddle with the heights until you get good sounds

3. Simonolly

Simonolly

Nov 18, 2015