Some beginner questions

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by letsjumpnow, May 24, 2005.

1. letsjumpnow

May 16, 2005
    Hi! I just did my first short practice session with the bass. I’m a drummer, but I’m making myself play bass for at least 15 minutes every day so I can learn the basics – I’m having fun with it so it usually gets up to 45! I have a few initial questions:

1 I like how it sounds when I pluck the strings with my fingernails (they’re a little long :D). Is this the same thing as using a fingerpick?

2 To start, I just went up and down the bottom string, using my index and middle fingers to press down on the frets and the same fingers on the other hand to pluck the strings. I put a song on repeat and ignored the melody and just tried to play the rhythm. Tomorrow I’ll go up and down all the strings doing this for a while. Is this advisable?

3 Is it fact or myth that if you’re playing rhythms, you’re only using the bottom (by bottom I mean the biggest string, hopefully I’m correct) two strings, and the top two are just used to crazy stuff like Vic Wooten or soloing/fills? I have no aspirations to do any fancy stuff. I will like playing Sly and the Family Stone/Beatles/Neil Young type simple stuff if I ever do get the hang of it.

4 Can anyone point me to a good place for figuring out songs by ear and also for good songs already tabbed out? I don’t know how to read tabs yet, so a site where I could learn how to do that would also be appreciated! I’m going to look into the musis theory/general instruction links and after posting this.

5 Do you have anything you think I should know right off the bat? Do’s and don’ts? Common beginner mistakes? I’d love to know!