Some day.....some day......

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Usul, Mar 12, 2001.

1. Hello all....

Just thought I would see how "the other half" lives! lol

I am a fledgling bass player(electric)....since I have been learning the e.b. it has made me respect and listen to "The Bass"(upright,acoustic,double?).Just wondering if I can ever realize my dream....namely learning to play "The Bass".I am self taught :( so far,due to lack of funds/time )but hope to get a teacher this year (god willing).....

What is the progression from e.b. to "the bass"? I think I need to learn a few years on that then go to fretless,then....who knows?

I am in awe of an instrument that is as tall as a man and you have to stand up to play/master.....

God Speed....
    Sir Usul of the Electric Bass
  2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    As far as the "progression" from one to the other, everyone down here is pretty much in agreement that you have to get a teacher. There are a lot of threads asking the same kinds of questions in the archives, you might want to check there for some stories from the trenches. What it all boils down to is, once you fall in love with the beast - and I mean real "till death/tendonitis do us part" love, not the puppydog kind - you can accomplish things you never thought were possible when you were playing find that, for the sake of THAT SOUND, you'll do just about anything. Playing fretless isn't going to hurt, but it isn't going to build a bridge to the doublebass either.