Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Some friendly advice from a non-close minded individual

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by arevolutionsend, Jun 26, 2002.

1. Hey, i'm fairly new in the whole bass scene and therefore am not very familiar with bass amplifiers or bass guitars.

I've been playing over 6 months now and i'd kind of like to upgrade by starter kit into something a little more comfortable to play and better sounding. However, like i just said... i don't really know what basses are good and what ones are trash. could anyone give me a few tips on picking out the absolute best amp and bass guitar there is? (cost is not a factor... just keep it reasonable. Say like... in the range of 2500 tops for the amp and guitar.)

Thanx a lot to anyone willing to help out a beginner.

2. Stupidnick

Stupidnick

Mar 22, 2002
    ...my room...
    what kinda of setup do you have now?
    Check out some spectors...
    spectors make pretty good basses.. especially the Chezch(sp) made instruments...
    American made steinbergers are great as well..
    but a tip .. just because its made in a certian country doesn't really mean much.. it can.. but sometimes it doesn't.. ive found American made fender jazz basses with worse necks and bodys than squier jazz basses.. which im not ragging on squier cause they have made some somewhat decent instruments...
    Goto a music store and check out different basses
    find one you like. dont buy online if you dont have too.. and dont listen to anybody when they say "this bass sucks so much" because
    1. bass is a sensative thing.. what may suck to someone tone wise may rule to someone else..
    2.dont knock it till you try it.

oh yeah and welcome to talkbass.. may this site please you

ps.. but if John Turner(JT) says a bass is cool.. or embelisher says a bass rules... ...then... it rules *grins*