Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Some help me...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by PunkUbi, Jan 30, 2003.

1. PunkUbi

PunkUbi

Jan 30, 2003
    Ok, here's the deal. I'm extremely new to playing bass or any instrument for that matter but I really wanna learn and I'm willing to. I don't know the first thing about playing bass and I can't take lessons because the 'closest' place is 18 miles away. What I'm asking for is if someone can talk to me here or through AIM about teaching me the basics og playing a bass. I'm willing to learn and I know it'll take time but I'm a quick learner and I really don't wanna put $250+ into something and wind up not using it...

Help teh n00b! Thanks in advance.

2. Johnny BoomBoom

Johnny BoomBoom Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2001
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I'd suggest that you have a look under FAQ. There is a section in that that gives you some ideas on instructional books that'll help you get started (that's how I did it 15 years ago!)

Also, there's a piece written be Jazzbo - one of the moderators - that gives a good insight into a lot of music theory which I've been meaning to study for a while. It's well written, in plain simple terms (unlike some books I've found)!

I can't find the link to Jazzbo's piece just now - hope this can get you started!

:)

Oh, and welcome to TalkBass. Another thought is the General Instruction forum - you'll get some good tips there and mayeb check out Technique!

3. Hi, I'm a rookie at this too. Just got my first bass yesterday.

I will recommend that you buy a guitar tuner (so your bass are in perfect tune). Then play a simple song on your CD and start playing along. I do it that way by a Rockman headphone amp with an aux input to my CD player. And it works fine... :)

Good luck!

/Niels A.

4. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member