1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Some New York Bass Works pics

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Pat C., Apr 20, 2010.

1. Pat C.

Pat C. Supporting Member

Jan 1, 2005
    Tuscaloosa, AL, USA
    I was messing around taking pics of my basses a few weeks ago (when I should've been practicing) and just now got them uploaded so I figured I'd post them up here since many people probably have never seen NYBW basses before.

These are not professional photos, it was just me in the living room with my point and shoot, so don't take the pics as representative of the finish, color, etc. of these basses.

Concert 6-string, one of the first few that Dave Segal made. Honduran mahogany body, quilted maple top, maple neck, Brazilian rosewood fingerboard. I've been running Bartolinis for about 10 years, but the bass originally came with Lindy Fralin single coils. The Fralins sounded a little better, but the single coil hum was driving me crazy.

This bass was totally custom in that I picked out everything, I mean literally picked out the chunks of wood that were to make up the body, neck, fingerboard and top. That was a very cool process.

It's a 36" scale, but very playable...I was on a Carvin 4-string before I bought this thing and I had no problem making the transition from four to six. This bass sounds fantastic, the dynamic range is unlike any other bass that I've played. And the B is monstrous. I'm pretty biased about all that, of course. :D

BassesC6.

BassesC6Body.

BassesC6Rear.

BassesC6HS1.