Some of the Best P Bass replacement pickup(s)

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by madjazzbass, Feb 18, 2016.

1. madjazzbass

madjazzbass

Jan 5, 2014
    Earth
    I'm Looking for a really good P Bass replacement pickup to drop in my new Squier Affinity P Bass; I'm fairly new to P Basses as I've strictly played Jazz Basses for the last 20-25 years and I'm completely blown away buy the sound and feel of this $179.00 Squier P/J Bass; I just feel it needs a little "thicker" and punchier tone and that a nice replacement P pickup would give me just that, Thanks. IMAG0149.jpg

2. MR PC

MR PC Inactive

Dec 1, 2007
    I like this one I just put in my '62 Fullerton P. It's a SME Sullivan handmade, hand wound P pickup. real nice! Made in Austin TX. I liked both the Duncan Vintage P and the Fender '60's P as well. All of these pickups are under a hundred bucks. You will notice a big improvement in performance with any of these.

Danpirvine and Keyser Soze like this.
  3. Dbassmon

Dbassmon

Oct 2, 2004
    Rutherford, NJ

Listen to this Aguilar PJ set.... I think these sound great

madjazzbass likes this.
  4. Lindy Fralin

5. rodlages

rodlages

Sep 4, 2013
    Love Geeze Butler EMG set

JJR58, joebar, sjhs and 2 others like this.
  6. Bassamatic

Bassamatic keepin' the beat since the 60's

The Fralin was a total disappointment for me - made no significant difference in my MIM or '08 MIA P. The SD SPB 2 and 3 were also less desirable than the stock pup! Different, but surely not better.

Maybe a set of Fender Vintage?

7. grillman

grillman

Dec 15, 2014
    The Seymour Duncan Quarter Pounder are a good bang for the buck. And if you are looking for 'thickness' look no further.

Not sure it qualifies as top of the line but it's clearly an improvement compared to Squier stock pups.

rumblefish, Gt6s, Ductapeman and 5 others like this.
  8. FrenchBassQC

FrenchBassQC Supporting Member

Jul 13, 2011
    Gatineau QC CA