Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Some of you have a real bourgeois attitude...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by GeneralSuckitov, May 7, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I am new to TalkBass and thought I would read a few of these posts to get a feel for what goes on in here. My opinion is that a lot of you can be very closed-minded (and even downright mean) when it comes to others and their abilities. I have seen people arguing over the fact that someone in a cover band is not as good as someone that writes original music, I have seen people argue over the fact that someone with a four-string bass is not as good as someone with a 5 and I have seen people telling others who their favorite band or bassist should be and why. I thought we were supposed to be bassists in here.....it shouldn't matter what you play, how you play or why you play - just THAT you play. Think about that people.

By the way, I know this is just MY opinion here, but I have heard some of Jaco's playing and I can say with all honesty: I don't see the attraction. Maybe someone could help me out with that one?

2. Acacia

Acacia

Apr 26, 2000
    Austin, TX
    jaco is a matter of personal taste in my opinion. i have heard him and as impressive as it is to me, it's nothing that I care to hear on a regular basis.

3. jazzbo

jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    My sincerest welcomes GENERAL:

Welcome to the world of music. As musicians are a diverse group of people, and artists no less, there will be dissension in the ranks. I think that this is normal. Certain people will biased views regarding their gear or influences. Especially when you feel passionately about something.