1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Some thoughts on EQ (or whose gig is this anyway?)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BryanB, Mar 11, 2013.

1. BryanB

BryanB Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

I have been playing for years and also have mixed live sound many, many times. I think I have at least a good fundamental understanding of eq. But sound sculpting as a sound engineer is different from sound sculpting as a bass player, at least in the live performance realm. As a sound engineer, my only focus is sculpting the sound to perfection. And I do this continually during a performance. I was never one to set and forget when running a board.) As a bass player, my primary goal is to give my best performance. I find that I am only able to focus on tweaking the sound, via signal processing anyway, before the show starts, between sets and occasionally between songs. (The later usually is reserved for times when it is really necessary.) Most of the time I only have a short time to dial out the bad and dial in the good.

My current amp, a Genz Benz ShuttleMax 9.2, has tons of tone-shaping options. It has two preamp stages with two shelving and two semi-parametric mids each. Plus the preamps can be combined! Add to that a variable bass boost, mid cut, and treble boost which can be controlled by foot switches. There is so much tone shaping, that after 3 months of playing with this awesome amp, I am only beginning to understand how to use it effectively. Add in eq options on the instrument, effects pedals, etc, it gets overwhelming pretty quickly