1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Some tone help fellas!and Ladies!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by sbbassslapper, Apr 28, 2006.

1. So i remember the whole reason i started playing bass was because of a bassist for a local band called Liquid6Teen. Well i've been trying to get my tone as close to his as possible and was wondering if you guys could give me some pointers. Now i don't know what his settings where, but i know what mine are and i can't figure out if i'm missing some gain or mids or both to my tone. Let me know what you think.

Samples of his tone is on this site...

www.myspace.com/liquid6teen
    (listen to the song Killer of killers, or One Nation and you should be able to hear it well enough)

My tone is on here...

www.myspace.com/sourblood
    (I'm not sure which song will be the easiest to hear my tone because i don't play by myslef, but i know i can hear it.)

Now here is what he was playing through:

Fender Jazz Bass (4-string) (has p&j pick ups)
    Hartke 3500 head
    SWR workman's 4x10 cabinet
    sansamp bass driver

Here is what I'm playing through:

Ibanez Ergodyne EB-600 (4 string)
    Ampeg B5R Head
    Ampeg 4x10HE
    Peavey BW 1x18
    SansAmp Bass Driver

I wish I knew what his settings where to help you more, i know that there are major differences in the cabs and amps themselves, but i much appreciate any guidance that you can give me.

2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    The only song that I actually heard the bassist's tone is Killer of Killers and only during his little break in between verses. For that sound I would use a pick with fresh strings and possibly boost your highs if that still isn't bright enough.