Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

someone explain the three cord trick?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by patrickroberts, May 7, 2001.

1. patrickroberts

patrickroberts

Aug 21, 2000
    Wales, UK
    can someone explain the three cord trick?

2. brewer9

brewer9

Jul 5, 2000
    I'm not sure what you mean, except maybe the joke about "3 chord rock." If thats what you mean then I'm an expert.

Any three chords that sound good together can be played in a progression easily and powerfully by any player (even by non-talented metal bands). It may have begun with Deep Purple's "Smoke on the Water." which used to be every beginning player's main riff (i dont know what the kids use these days....boy am I feeling old now).

Go ahead, try it. It really works!

3. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    Isn't the three cord trick what the ladies in Thai cathouses do for an extra fee?

4. patrickroberts

patrickroberts

Aug 21, 2000
    Wales, UK
    progression, where can i find these mystical lists of good sounding chords?

5. MJB

MJB

Mar 17, 2000
    As a start, pick any I, IV, V you want.

6. TonyS

TonyS

Dec 13, 1999
    USA
    Then,

Stick those chords into a 12 bar blues format, and your on your way. ... BTW, It also helps to know the Key.

7. dytakeda

dytakeda

Jul 18, 2000
    patrick,
    it looks like all the responders are being uncharacteristcally vague for some reason.

I'm also guessing you're referring to the three chords - I, IV and V. This is a typically blues or rock or country type of arrangement. Someone mentioned the key. The key of the song would be the same as the I chord or vice versa.