Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Someone explain to me

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JebusChrist, Jun 5, 2005.

1. JebusChrist

JebusChrist

May 23, 2005
    NYC
    Im in desparate need of a bass amp (ive been playing for five years, and for two of those years without an amplifier of any kind). so, im getting tired of only being able to play at school. Im avoiding the combo option, because i want the money i spend to go a long way. i though about the traditional bass head + cabinet, but i don't want to spend 1000 bucks on an Ampeg B2r and a cabinet. so im going with the pre-amp/power amplifier/ cabinet option. all i need to know is how this is set up. Im thinking about getting either a Tech 21 Sans amp rackmountable pre amp, an Ampeg SVP pro, or SVPCL, or even a BBE BMAX tube or ss. Now, let's say i get a 1000 watt power amp. what do i need to connect the pre amp to the power amp? what plug do i connect to the power amp? also, is it okay to have a 1000 watt power amp with a 400 watt 4x10 cabinet? how do i match the ohms? most importantly, what cables do i need??? Just try to give me as much info about the pre amp/power amp setup, and also give me reasons to go with the traditional head+cabinet. thanks in advance, i know im asking alot :p

2. Masher88

Masher88 Believe in absurdities and you commit atrocities

May 7, 2005
    Cleveland, OH