Someone please explain how 7 tubes can power a 200 watt head?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jacob M, Sep 27, 2004.

1. Jacob M

Jacob M

Aug 28, 2004
    New York
    I was just looking around at different bass amp companies, and I LOVE the Traynor YCV40WR guitar amp, so I figured I should check out their bass amps as well. This is the specific product I'm referring to, the YBA200

Anyway, I'm a guitarist as of now, and with guitars, 3 preamp tubes and 4 power amp tubes is something you'd expect on a 50 watt amp. How is it so radically different with this amp, that it can use such a small number of tubes to get so much power? Is this universal with all bass amps, or just this specific model?

If you feel like talking alot of posting stuff that's barely on topic, please do, I want to learn as much as I possibly can, even if it isn't directly on topic or a very in-depth explanation.
  2. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    Hi Jacob, the power level is primarily determined by the "type" of tube. In y'r average 50-watt guitar amp, Fender uses a pair of 6L6-type tubes, which are rated at a maximum dissipation of around 25 watts, so a pair of them can crank out 50 watts. "Most" 50-watt tube amps use a pair of 6L6's, the lower power ones (like the Deluxe and Princeton and so on) use a pair of 6V6's, which can only crank out about half as much power as the 6L6's (hence the 20-watt ratings on these amps).

For bass amps, there are two solutions to get higher power: either a) use "more" 6L6's, or b) use higher power tubes. The Mesa 400 uses option (a), they put "lots" of 6L6's in the circuit to get more power (note that typically, the 100 watt guitar-type amps will use four 6L6's instead of two, and so on). On the other hand, the SVT and the YBA200 use option (b), they use higher power tubes.