Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Someone's going to slap me..

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by grey, Feb 10, 2005.

1. grey

grey

May 13, 2004
    for asking these questions again, but whenever I read other threads I just end up more confused....

1. I just bought a new rack-mountable head - does anyone have any cheap/lightweight bags/cases they could recommend?

Having only ever dealt with combo's before, I'm a complete cab noob

2. It's a 350 watt head...what sort of range of wattage on a cab should I be looking for?

3. Does anyone have a link to guidance as to how different speaker configurations sound? i.e how would it sound if I got a 1x15 vs a 2x12?

thanks

2. I suppose your amp is 350 watt at 4ohm, so you need a 4ohm cab, or 2 8ohm cabs.
    All cab combinations sound diffirent, I suggest you try some combinations and cabs at your local store or something like that

3. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    i think there's a bunch of rack bag companies out there, if your head is a two space (3.5" high) i would probably go with a three space bag for ventilation.

what kinda head is it anyway?

anyhow, cabinets that can handle 350 watts are common, and your amp probably only puts out about 200 watts at 8 ohms, so any 8 ohm cabinets would be fine. like's been said, you can go with 2 8 ohm cabs or one 4 ohm one.

as for cabinet configurations, i reccomend taking your bass and head to a bunch of stores and trying out a bunch of cabs. there are no hard and fast rules anymore about how different diameter speakers sound as the cabinet designs (and speaker designs) vary sooooooooo much.

4. Ralphdaddy

Ralphdaddy Supporting Member

Nov 6, 2003
    Chicago, Illinois