Somethin' Every True Bass Player Should See...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Freakapotamus9, Aug 2, 2001.

1. Freakapotamus9

Jun 20, 2001
    ok guys, im turning to you. heres the thing. im a pretty good bass player, but i want to be the best that i could possibly be and then some. im in the school band, im in a band, i play bass 24/7 ( including when i watch letterman :) ) , and every cent i make i buy bass stuff with. its not good enough for me though. what can i do??? should i take lessons ( self taught ) ??? what scales should i try to perfect??? im willing to do anything. what do i do to become a bassapotamus??? i want the experts advice here ( yes thats you ) . PLEASE HELP ME
  2. Chris A

Chris A Chemo sucks!

Feb 25, 2000
    Manchester NH
    Have you read any other thread in this forum??
    Do I have to come right out and say it??

Chris A.:rolleyes:
  3. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    watching letterman should help, at least on the karma level - will lee is da man.

check out - this site is a great instructional site for bass.

oh, yeah, and get a good teacher. where would luke be without yoda, eh? :D
  4. Freakapotamus9

Jun 20, 2001
    3 simple words: i am lazy :D
    next question: should i get a private teacher or do i go to the local guitar store and take lessongs there?
  5. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Try to get some info on the local bassists that teach. It doesn't really matter if private or guitar store, although I've found that most store teachers are street players themselves and aren't very good teachers (or bassists rof that matter). At least where I come from.
    Perhaps there are some (jazz) bassists around that play and/or teach at a pro level.