1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Something about passive mode..

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by 5string5fingers, Nov 19, 2018.

1. So I recently got this amazing Fender Jazz Deluxe V. Cant put it down, love it.

Yesterday, I decided to switch passive mode.This was my first time really playing in passive mode in this bass other than a function check of the switch and there is something about it...

I have been playing exclusively an active bass for 4 years now, and ibanez sr400. This was the first passive J bass I have played in probably 10 years and it was a strange experience for me. I love the active mode, and switched back and forth and set flat there really only seemed to be a volume boost and a treble boost going to active. I can only describe the passive mode as delicious. I cant even explain the feeling and sound, and dont know what it is.

Anybody else feel this way? I love what active electronics give to you, but dang if passive isn't just awesome. I think I've just been away for too long.

2. just realized this needs to probably be moved.

Pbassmanca likes this.
  3. jd56hawk

jd56hawk

Sep 12, 2011
    The Garden State
    I have a G&L L2000.
    Can’t remember the last time I flipped the switch to active.
    In passive mode it’s bass perfection.

(Pretty sure you’re on the right board)

4. I do prefer passive mode, but TBH my SR1800E sounds exactly the same passive as it does active, when all the EQ knobs are at noon.

Element Zero and dralionux like this.
  5. dagrev

dagrev Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2006
    Kentucky
    Yep. That’s why Leo started it that way!;)

MoeTown1986 likes this.
  6. rockinrayduke

rockinrayduke Supporting Member

Dec 30, 2007
    Henderson, NV
    Flipped the switch on my old Jazz Deluxe months ago and never went back.

5string5fingers and Aqualung60 like this.
  7. rockscott

rockscott

Aug 28, 2010