Something happened to my Road Worn Precision...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by recreate.me, Dec 2, 2010.

1. recreate.me

recreate.me

Apr 2, 2010
    Ontario
    Well, i just got this thing from a TB member a little while back, and i used it a week or two and saw the bridge cover screws and thought "I think i have an extra cover and some screws!"

So i screwed in my cover, it looked great. I started playing and after about an hour i touched the cover and it was warm. Weird.

So i felt around and the screw closest to the input jack was HOT. Like hot, not warm.

So i took the cover off, and played it again and now its so noisy. If i am not touching the strings its humming. If i touch the screws holding on the pickups when i rest my thumbs it buzzes.

What did I do, and how do i FIX THIS?

2. exorcism

3. You put your screw through the ground wire going to the bridge and cut the wire badly or in half. Time to bring it to the shop

4. thisSNsucks

thisSNsucks

Dec 19, 2004
    Yonkers, NY
    Thats what I was thinking. However if thats the case, either:
    A. The OP really misjudged where to drill the holes for the cover
    OR
    B. Fender really misjudged where to drill the ground wire lead hole.

5. Rockman

Rockman

Mar 2, 2006
    That explains the noise, but it shouldn't cause heat. It is possible that you just put so much energy into the the bass that some of it turns into heat energy, but thats incredibly unlikely. But you probably did cut the ground wire from the bridge but I don't see why that would increase the temperature.

6. Alucard817

Alucard817

May 18, 2010
    Tampa,Fla
    Like Gargoil said you cut something, Im thinking ground wire as well, but I dont know if that would cause your screws to get hot.

Can some one confirm this?

Damnit beat to the punch

7. BigOldHarry

BigOldHarry

Aug 11, 2008
    San Diego, CA
    Yup. That must be quite a screw you used!

8. recreate.me

recreate.me

Apr 2, 2010
    Ontario