Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Song suggestions for ear training

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by fisk, Oct 9, 2001.

1. fisk

fisk

Jan 3, 2001
    Indianapolis, IN
    Hello everyone.

I'm so sick of needing my bass instructor to help me figure out the bass lines in songs, I could puke. I have really started paying close attention to ear training so I can figure this stuff out on my own. I've been playing for several months now, and my playing is getting better every day, but unless I get tabs off the internet or have my teacher figure it out for me, I might as forget it, i'm lost.

I need some suggestions for songs that would be good to practice note and chord recognition. A song with a blistering fast bass solo would be useless at my level of ability. I'm looking for songs with fairly easy bass lines, maybe something that just follows the root motion and would be good practice to start out. I'll work up to harder songs as I go. Then I can take it to my next lesson and see how I did.

I would appreciate any song suggestions, or any other advise on ear training in general.

thanks,

fisk

2. fisk

fisk

Jan 3, 2001
    Indianapolis, IN
    Hello, hello......is this thing on?

Come on guys, 3 views in two hours? I once saw a thread titled "how long is your nose hair" that had dozens of replies. :rolleyes: Certainly someone out there has a song suggestion for me.

Ok, i'll start. "With or without you" by U2 would be a good song to start with. The entire song just repeats D, A, B, G all the way through. If I didnt already know this, it would be a good example of what i'm looking for.

Anyone else?

thanks in advance,

fisk

3. try simple songs. and "Sunshine Of Your Love" by cream. simple, but took me a hell of a long time to figure it out!

4. bobaloo

bobaloo

Aug 26, 2001
    Newport News, Va.