Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

song words

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Fishbrain, Mar 5, 2001.

1. Fishbrain

Fishbrain

Dec 8, 2000
    England, Liverpool
    Endorsing Artist: Warwick Bass and Amp
    K, my band is at a point were we wanna write our own stuff. So I have wrote two and our singer/guitarist has wrote one. But we cant think of any words for them! Any help on thinking up words would be appreciated.

2. This may or may not help:

I heard an interview with Sting, on the radio, some time back and they were asking him how he came up with the song: Fields of Gold. He said he came up with the title first and the song almost wrote itself out after that. I've written a lot of lyrics for bands I've been in and I've never tried that technique before. Afterwards I decided, if I come up with anything that might sound like a cool song title, to write it down. I have since written a few songs this way and in most cases they do write themselves after coming up with the title.

3. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
    Think of a couplet that doesnt sound stupid. Unless of course you want it to. Listen to the TV radioo and any conversation. Think about what P's you off.

You have to say something. Start the song with an inviting line.....

'I remember when we used to sit in the Goverment yard in Trenchtown' is an example brownie point for knowing the song.

Dont force the rhymn unless you want to. Don't use stupid cupid unless you want to sound like a spice girl.

Decide to use first person or third. Decide to be auto-biographical or get in the skin of your characters even if you hate them. EG write about a serial killer (c'est que se) as if you are him (assuming you r not a serial killer of course).

Write amusing lines 'I tried to drown my sorrows but they learnt to swim' is another line I wish I wrote. (points again).