1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Songs & Pinky Collapsing

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by AnnaGhostt, Dec 9, 2019.

1. AnnaGhostt

AnnaGhostt

Dec 9, 2019
    Hello!

I'm a new bass player, I had my bass for a while and was on again and off again. I live in an incredibly small town and the nearest teacher is in another state. I have to learn on my own and a YouTube channel, Bass Buzz, has been a good help. It was going well, until I had to use my pinky.

Everytime I would try, my pinky would "collapse" and fixing it caused pain. I had my thumb in the middle of the neck, below the neck, and above it at different angles and it still happened. Even in the correct position, I have seen videos on pinky excercises. Nothing seems to be helping to stop the collapsing. Anyone has any ideas? Maybe it's a weak pinky.

Also, any good absolute beginner songs that's not happy birthday and has some notes? I don't care what genre but I do tend to like things like Mitski more, but that's for a higher level lol.

Fergie Fulton and Kriegs like this.
  2. Kriegs

Kriegs Peace

Feb 14, 2018
    Southern New England
    Welcome to Talkbass. I'll save you a lot of heart/finger ache.... there's no absolute need to use your pinky. No kidding. Many of us play with only the pointer, middle and ring fingers on the fretting hand :thumbsup: You can just slide up a fret and use your ring finger instead of your pinky.

3. You'll just never look like this guy. And maybe you're okay with that.

standing_form_sm_med.jpeg

AnnaGhostt and dkelley like this.
  4. Malcolm35

Malcolm35

Aug 7, 2018
    Slide if you need to, I'll not tell. We do with what we have.