Songwriting ethos

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Cambass, Jun 9, 2001.

1. I recently met up with a guy who is a guitarist/songwriter and we got talking about writing songs. He explained that you don't really need to write songs, you can just take chord progressions and put another melody on top of it. Some time on from this we both met up with another songwriter (of which nothing eventuated) and he sort of said the same thing and pointed out some songs by Oasis and even Radiohead that were basically Beatles songs just played in another key (they're both Oasis freaks). To be honest I was a bit shocked, not having written too many songs myself, I'm not an expert, but to find out that even huge bands sometimes do this was dissapointing.

Does anyone else do this, is this common? I don't particularly agree with this method, sure it's takes talent to write a good catchy melody but if you're just copying the structure of someone elses song then to me that's cheating in a way. What does everyone else think?
  2. Orco87

Mar 26, 2000
    I guess it's cheating.....and it's smart too. It takes talent to do that, and then it doesn't take much talent to copy someone else's stuff and "change" a few things. Oh well....that's what I think. :)
  3. To me song writing is from inside. It is a representation of mood and feeling in sound. Sure it takes a talent to re-model a melody, but what happens to the satisfaction of knowing that the song one has written is personalised? A personal song goes far deeper than just lyrics, the music in itself adds all different dimensions and interpretations of the song.