Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Songwriting

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Bassist_Ben, Apr 28, 2005.

1. Hey people,

i am an bass guitarist from a punk/rock band and i dont know wwhat first song should we make??? Because we are like GREEN DAY and we dont have any songs that tease or talk about to bush or stuff. So can i have tips or suggestions please!!! :bassist:

2. :rollno: :rollno: :rollno: :rollno: :rollno: :rollno: :rollno: :rollno: Hey the same thing again also to add we are making songs that are funny becuz they tease stuff or wateva you callit thanks!!
    :hyper: :help: :hyper: :help: :hyper: :help:

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

"All your base are belong to us!!" ;)

4. Pardon that guy's rudeness.

Songwriting means writing a song instead of copping it off someone else. How are we supposed to give you ideas? They're your songs and if you're trying to perform songs a songwriter wrote, it's going to cost you some money.

Here's my tip for easy songs. Have the guitarist (or you) think of a riff they created. Play that at band practice and make up instruments to go along as you go. Jam it out. When you need a chorus, think what would sound good.

That or you could just put a bunch of chords that sound good together and jam it out from there.

Use your creative muscle Good luck!

5. FriscoBassAce

FriscoBassAce

Dec 29, 2004
    Frisco, Texas
    Independent Manufacturers Representative
    Here's my answer, and of course, it's just my opinion:

First, music can be anything you want it to be. If it's a two-note song, it's music. Not too many people will dig it, but it's STILL music. That being said, here's how I've found to be the "best" way to write cool music that most people will enjoy.