1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Sonny Rollins' Moritat solo performed on double bass

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Jonny Mah, May 29, 2014.

1. Jonny Mah

Jonny Mah

Nov 9, 2009
    Toronto
    This has been a long time coming. I started lifting this solo as a teenager but there were parts that were just too fast for me to hear or transcribe. Enter the ihearit app for iPhone, and I've been able to finish the lift and learn to play it to the best of my ability. I know this version isn't totally perfect, but it's probably as good as I'll be able to get it for the time being given the range / technical issues. I can provide the transcription as well if you want it - I think it's one of the best solos I've ever heard.

2. Yeah!

3. Jonny Mah

Jonny Mah

Nov 9, 2009
    Toronto
    Thanks!

4. Transcription!
    Yes, please, if you're willing to share the fruits of your labour.

5. Jonny Mah

Jonny Mah

Nov 9, 2009
    Toronto
    ImageUploadedByTalkBass1401745885.811785. ImageUploadedByTalkBass1401745956.473243. ImageUploadedByTalkBass1401745966.179814. ImageUploadedByTalkBass1401745974.564978.

6. Many many thanks, kind sir!

7. tito mangialajo

tito mangialajo

Feb 1, 2006
    Great Jonny!

8. Mofo!

neal davis likes this.
  9. M0ses

M0ses

Sep 11, 2009
    Los Angeles
    Very nice! Sounds pretty accurate to me. Forgive if I'm overstepping my bounds, but I think now that you've got the notes, it's time to really delve into his phrasing and inflection.

Jonny Mah likes this.
  10. Jonny Mah

Jonny Mah

Nov 9, 2009
    Toronto
    Duly noted.

11. jloehrke

jloehrke

Dec 23, 2010
    Uh, you're kidding, right? Dude nails a Sonny Rollins solo arco, and you're making suggestions?

12. M0ses

M0ses

Sep 11, 2009
    Los Angeles