Sore Left Thumb

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by elvinstheman, Jun 21, 2005.

1. elvinstheman

Jun 16, 2005
    Seattle, USA
    I'm a jazz drummer/long-time bass guitarist just learning DB. I've been doing major scales and my left thumb gets numb after about a half hour. Am I doing something wrong or does one's thumb just have to get used to it like your posterior has to get used to riding a bike?

2. pklima

May 2, 2003
    Kraków, Polska
    First of all, welcome to the dark side from whence there is no return. The big beast is physically challenging but with proper technique you shouldn't be sore even if you have to play loudly for two hours straight.

Odds are you're doing something wrong. Can you get a teacher? It's a very good idea to develop good habits early. It could be that you're not balancing the bass properly so you're having to hold it up with your hand. Could be that you're gripping the neck too hard. Could be that your wrist or elbow isn't angled right.
  3. Damon Rondeau

Damon Rondeau Journeyman Clam Artist Supporting Member

Nov 19, 2002
    Winnipeg, baby
    Do you have a double-jointed thumb, or "hitchhiker's thumb"?

I was asking about this a few weeks back in this thread. There's a link in there that takes you to a genetics site where there's a good picture of the thumb.

It may not be "poor" technique, it may just be technique not suited to your anatomy. But of course, you really should check it out with a teacher or some experienced players...
  4. edvon

Apr 4, 2004
    Hi, I've been playing BG for a while and DB for not quite one year now, and I had similar problems with my LH thumb.
    My teacher pointed out two things:

1. I "collapsed" my thumb instead or arching it slightly almost like the bow hold for a french bow. Now I watched closely and saw that many experienced players don't arch their thumbs but I gave it a shot anyway and it helped.