1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Sorry for the dumb newb question...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Twospot, Jan 6, 2012.

1. Twospot

Twospot

Jan 1, 2012
    Toms River,NJ
    So I am new to bass, I don't even have one yet LOL. However my bday is next sunday an my amazing wife is getting me a Schecter Diamond P Custom that I absolutely fell in love with. Its already on hold for us to go pickup. It was an amazing moment to find an instrument that feels so right.

I was wondering is there anything I can start doing BEFORE I even have the bass to start learning? Any exercises, suggested reading (over and above these forums, which are awesome)?

2. Old Joe

Old Joe Guest

Apr 22, 2011
  3. dtiii

dtiii

Apr 22, 2009
    nyc
    Hone in on the bass lines of any music that you listen to and try to hum or sing along with it.

Congrats on starting.

4. Listen to a lot of music you like, especially the bass lines.

5. Twospot

Twospot

Jan 1, 2012
    Toms River,NJ
    Thanks all!

6. Twospot

Twospot

Jan 1, 2012
    Toms River,NJ
    I do have book one. I like the all in one much better. Pretty sweet price as well!

7. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Dont neglect technique. Whatever you learn, you will want to play it to the best of your ability, and in the process avoid wrist and hand problems that could arise due to bad technique. Having said that, nothing is written in stone, so find a technique that suits you and is comfortable and safe. Now is the best time to develop good technique before bad habits develop.

A few minutes spent checking out these clips would be time well spent IMO.

Best of luck with it, and welcome to the low end. :bassist:

Todd Johnson Bass Guitar : Floating thumb technique - YouTube