Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Sorry if this belongs someplace else! Question regarding defretting neck

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by HWK2, Aug 5, 2001.

1. I've got a couple quick questions:

1: What is the fastest/safest/easiest way to defret a fretboard?
    2: The fretboard is maple (supposed to be.. its off of a 1979 MIJ rip off of a fender.. so who knows) is that going to be able to hold up? or is it going to be a problem? I don't know about how strong of a wood maple is (and I am an aspiring luthier.. sad huh? :()

I've got a moto-tool, which I ground down one fret to the fretboard (without touching the board) but that took FOREVER... looks good though :) wondering if there is a better way to do this.. probably..

Again sorry if this is the wrong place.. I wasn't sure :)

Thanks

2. I vaguely recall that my friend asked a luthier about defretting his bass with a maple fretboard and the guy said it was a bad idea because maple is soft. I very well could be wrong though. I have never seen new fretless basses sold with maple fingerboards so that may be a clue it might not be a good idea.

3. Suburban

Suburban

Jan 15, 2001
    lower mid Sweden
    Grinding will take a while, and the sound will be disturbed, as most of the time you will fret on wood but occationally on metal.
    Rip the **** out, put in some wood strips. Maple will do, but needs at least laquer. If you use rounds, I'd recommend card coating.

Now: search the archives for "defretting", and spend a week reading them!

4. Yeah, I was hoping to avoid that ;)